

allas Baptist University hosted the 25th Annual DBU-Oak Cliff Partnership Dinner on Tuesday, May 14, 2013, on the DBU campus. During the dinner, the 2013 Good Samaritan Awards were presented to John Clem, DBU director of development, and Jim Palmer, founder of the Silver Serenaders of Texas. Dr. Rose-Mary Rumbley, a 1991 recipient of the award and former DBU professor, served as the chair of the Advisory Committee.

John Clem (pictured top left with his wife, Carole) has served as the coordinator of the DBU-Oak Cliff Good Samaritan dinner for over 20 years. He has faithfully served 31 years at Dallas Baptist University, and is currently the director of development. Since 1992, Clem has graciously been DBU's representative to local veterans groups and the DFW National Cemetery. Previously, he directed the Oak Cliff community affairs for the University, including working with the Oak Cliff Chamber of Commerce, and

the Oak Cliff Rotary and Lions Clubs.

Jim Palmer (pictured bottom left with his wife, Betty) has served as the artistic director for the Silver Serenaders of Texas for 30 years, and was most recently named the artistic director emeritus of the group. He has been very involved in the Oak Cliff Community throughout his lifetime, including service as the president of the Oak Cliff Rotary Club, member of the board of directors for the Oak Cliff Chamber of Commerce, and also acting as a member and ultimately president of the Grace Presbyterian Village Board of Direc-

This year marked the 25th anniversary of the dinner, proceeds from which provide scholarships for students from





FORI	MER RECIPIENTS
1989:	Judge Oswin Chrisman
	Mrs. Mary Rutledge
1990:	Dr. Bettye M. Whiteaker-Hu
	Mr. Don L. Hicks
1991:	Dr. Rose-Mary Rumbley
	Mr. Comer J. Cottrell
1992:	Dr. Charles Tandy
	Mrs. Roena Tandy
1993:	Dr. J. L. LaManna
	Mrs. Pearl Price
1994:	Mr. Chris V. Semos
	Mrs. Danell Lichtenwalter
1995	Dr. Phil Berry
	Mrs. Lois Evans
1996:	Mr. Bob Byrd
	Mrs. Sheila Bailey
1997:	Mr. Jack Hamm
	Mr. J. D. Hurd
1998:	Mr. John Criswell
1999:	Chief Ben Click
	Mr. Frank Romero

Communities Foundation of TX 2002: Mr. Cloyde C. Pinson, Sr. Hillcrest Foundation 2003: Oak Cliff Tribune

Dr. Wright Lassiter

DSWOP (Trustees)

Dr. Ron Anderson

Dr. E. K. Bailey 2004: Mr. Paul Cardarella Dr. Fred White

2000:

2001:

2005: Hoblitzelle Foundation Mr. Walter Counts

2006: Wynnewood Baptist Church Mr. Warren Rutherford

2007: Methodist Health System Mrs. Jeannette Sadler 2008: Christ For The Nations

Mrs. Betty Hatfield 2009: Mr. Albert Black, Jr. Mr. Dennis Jeter

2010: Mr. Dennis Jeter 2010: Dr. Weldon Estes Mrs. Jan Pruitt

2011: Dr. Martin Hawkins

Tyler Street Christian Academy

2012: Dr. Dan Griffin
DFW National Cemetery

Oak Cliff who are attending DBU. In 1988, then first-year president Dr. Gary Cook had an initial meeting with Judge Os Chrisman, John Clem, Dr. Dan Griffin, Dr. and Mrs. Charles Tandy, and Dr. Kermit White-aker about the possibility of beginning this special dinner in honor of those who seek to help the Oak Cliff Community. Since that time, 49 different organizations or individuals have been given the Good Samaritan Award.

(Top) Dr. Gary Cook, Dr. Dan Griffin, Judge Os Chrisman, Dr. Bettye Whitaker-Hurt, John Clem, and Mrs. Roena Tandy. These individuals represent the first group that met in 1988 to begin the DBU-Oak Cliff Partnership Award Dinner.

(Left) Past Good Samaritan Award recipient Sheila Bailey (center) with her son, Emon, and also Francine White.

(Right) Chett Haynes, current director of the Silver Serenaders of Texas, shares with the crowd about the mission of the group prior to their performance.







